Vancouver and Victoria

Hey All!

This past weekend was my families 3rd Annual Camping trip. The weather could have been a little nicer but we had loads of fun πŸ™‚

Now onto recapping the road trip to Tofino.

Vancouver
The first night of the trip we stayed in Surrey, now Surrey has a bad reputation for crime and what not, but this guest house we stayed at was in a richer area and was 5min from White Rock and was a steal of a deal.

Grace Guest House
The link will take you to my trip advisor review. I really don’t have much to add to this place other then it may be the weirdest set up that I have stayed at before.

We drove the 5min to go for dinner and a walk along the boardwalk in White Rock. Super pretty! By this time our stomachs were grumbling and we needed to find a restaurant that met gluten free for my friend and all of my food. We didn’t go far and ended up at…

Jan’s On the Beach
The meal was amazing! They have an extensive list of gluten free options including deep fried food. My friend and I shared the mussels and both order fish and chips. Jan herself was actually in the kitchen cooking up and served my friend and I our meals. Now the service wasn’t the greatest but the food made up for it.

On our way back from camping we stopped in Vancouver for a night to enjoy the comforts of a bed and a proper shower and let me tell you it was needed.

Douglas Guest House

My full review of the place is found here. This place felt like a luxury accommodation after camping and I think one of the best parts was it included breakfast. I was only able to have coffee and fruit but the rest of what came out of the kitchen looked delicious.

Now our stop in Vancouver was short and sweet and we basically had enough time to drive to Port Moody to visit with my friends friend and have dinner. We left bright and early the next morning.

Romers
There weren’t too many options for me here but they did have a detox bowl. It was listed as gluten free, vegan and vegetarian. I hadn’t eaten much that day so I opted to add some grilled chicken. Turned out perfect. The other girls meals looked good!

Victoria
We spent one night here and most of a day. The weather was great and we walked around a lot which was nice after all the driving done up until this point.

Capital City Centre
I would definitely stay at this hotel (review)Β again if I ever find myself in Victoria. Since we were carrying food with us for camping it was magical when we walked in our room and we had an apartment sized fridge and freezer.

We got to experience both BC day and Symphony Splash. Symphony Splash was pretty cool, they had a floating stage where they performed and around 60,000 people sat around and listened. We wandered around the harbour by the Empress Hotel and looked at all the booths and then made our way to Fishermen’s Wharf.

Blue Crab
This might be by far the best places we ate at! The view was to die for and the food was mouth watering and amazing. My friend and I shared the mussels and clams as a starter. I ordered the Pesto Crusted Halibut but sans pesto since it has dairy in it. I feel like I have been cheated my whole life, the seafood was insanely fresh.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


After dinner my cousin and her husband were in town at their families condo. I hadn’t seen them in years so my friend and I wandered over and chatted with them for a couple hours. It was so good to see them and their girls and catch up on life. Our time was pretty awesome, as we were able to watch the BC day fireworks from their condo.

If you have questions or want more information leave a comment and I will respond. Feedback is always good too!

XO Nicole

 

Leave a Reply

